We are Nigerian citizens reporting commentaries and analysis on the state of affairs in Nigeria, to hold our political elites to account for the injustice done to the Nigerian people.

Saturday, August 04, 2007

Corrupt Government Shares Loot

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo and the Vice-President, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, are to get a total of N19.5 million as severance pay as soon as the National Assembly ratifies the payment of severance allowance to former public office-holders.

Documents exclusively obtained from the Revenue Mobilisation and Fiscal Allocation Commission on Friday indicated that Obasanjo will get N10,544,115; while Abubakar will collect N9,094,717.
These figures represent 300 per cent of their annual basic salaries. The documents showed Obasanjo’s basic salary as N3, 514,705.00, while Abubakar’s was N3,031,572.50.

Already, all former members of the National Assembly and its leadership have been paid. The highest among them is the former Senate President, Chief Ken Nnamani, who got N7,452,727. He is followed by the erstwhile Speaker of the House of Representatives, Alhaji Aminu Masari, who was paid N7,431,330. While Nnamani earned N2, 484,242.50 annually, Masari got N2,309,166.75.

The documents also showed that each of the former governors is to collect N6, 671,115.00; while each their former deputies will receive N6, 336,645.00 each.
Of the 36 former governors, only nine returned. They are the governors of Borno, Ondo, Osun, Ogun, Anambra, Kano, Kogi, Kwara and Gombe. Apart from the Governor Adebayo Alao-Akala, who was the deputy governor of Oyo State, others who returned as deputy governors after the 2007 elections include those of Bayelsa, Borno, Ondo, Ogun, Osun, Anambra, Kano, Kogi, Kwara, Kaduna and Gombe. The former governors and deputy governors were on N2, 223,705.00 and N2, 112,215.00 respectively.

For the former Deputy Senate President, Ibrahim Mantu, his severance pay is put at N6, 927,566. This represents 300 per cent of his N2, 309,188.75 annual basic pay.
For former senators, whom it was gathered had been paid because they did not require legislative approval as stipulated in Section 70 of the 1999 Constitution, they each went home with N6,079,200.00. Ex-members of the House of Representatives got N5, 955,637.00. The former Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives, Chief Austin Opara, was also paid N4, 337,947.00.

At the state level, the commissioners and each of the former Secretary to the State Government is due for N4,011,675.00m; while the permanent secretaries and auditors-general will go home with N3,743,610.00 each. Each of the former special advisers to the governors are also to get N5, 000,440,00.
For the former local government chairmen, each of them will collect N3, 406, 170.00 while their deputies will pocket N3, 198,960 each. The councillors are not also left out as each of them is to smile home with N2,850,285,00.

Former ministers; the former Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Obong Ufot Ekaette; the former Head of Service, Alhaji Yayale Ahmed; and chairmen of some public parastatals are to go home with N6, 079,200 each.
For this set of former public servants to be entitled to the severance pay, it was stated that they must have served for a period of two years in office.

While millions of Nigerians are struggling to survive with meagerly stipends, these bunch of political buffoons are cutting for themselves fat severance package from the national treasury. What did these politrickscians achieved in the past 8 years to justify this largesse? Beats me!!!


Blogger catwalq said...

severance pay for what?
after all they have taken?
abi oriburuku de ba awon people yi ni?

Mon Aug 06, 01:23:00 PM EDT  
Blogger Copido said...

So they got paid for looting this nation.

Thu Aug 09, 08:43:00 AM EDT  
Blogger Mr.Fineboy said...

Imagine. The severance pay sef is nothing to them. They'll probably just buy a couple of cars with the money, after they don chop all our money finish.

Fri Aug 10, 12:17:00 PM EDT  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home

Free Hit Counter
Free Counter